Tuesday, June 19, 2018
You are here:

Top Spot of the Week: adidas Originals' "Your Future Is Not Mine" From Johannes Leonardo


Robert Goldrich
Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2016


Log in or register now!

Going against the grain, defining one’s own future rather than the future that has been mapped out by the masses. These are the characteristics that mark the next generation of creators as depicted in “Your Future Is Not Mine,” a 75-second film that’s the centerpiece of Johannes Leonardo’s latest adidas Originals campaign which features a new squad of eight upcoming artists and cultural influencers from around the world who are shaping their own path through their craft: Luka Sabbat, Kyu Steed, Aleali May, Ikwa Zhao, Reese Cooper, Design Butler, Yuki Matsuda and Iman Shumpert.

Terence Neale of RSA Films directed the :75 which captures this new generation of creators as they confidently march towards an optimistic tomorrow, dismissing hurdles of the negative future they seem to have inevitably inherited. Underscored by an original track by Los Angeles-born artist Daisy Hamel-Buffa, the protagonists walk to the beat of the chant that defiantly states, “Your future is not mine,” occasionally looking back as if to invite the viewer on the journey. The words of the mesmerizing chant feel like a powerful generational anthem.


Client adidas Originals Agency Johannes Leonardo Jan Jacobs, Leo Premutico, chief creative officers; Ferdinando Verderi, Wesley Phelan, Matthew Edwards, creative directors; Andrew Dawson, chief strategy officer; Cedric Gairard, head of production; Justin Lane, executive producer; Tina Diep, producer; Elena Miska, sr. designer; Michael Riso, designer. Production RSA Films Terence Neale, director; Jules Daly, president/executive producer; Tracie Norfleet, executive producer; Betsy Blakemore, producer; Sebastian Wintero, DP Production (Budapest) Pioneer Films Melinda Szepesi, exec producer. Production (Cape Town) Egg Films Rozanne Rocha-Gray, exec producer; Dagny Warmerdam, producer. Editorial Exile Shane Reid, Nate Gross, editors; Carol Lynne Weaver, exec producer; Melanie Gagliano, sr. producer; Viet-An Nguyen, producer; Mari Celeste Garrahan, assistant editor. VFX MPC Rob Walker, VFX supervisor; Vicky Osborn, head of 3D; Rob Petrie, CG creative director; Justin Brukman, managing director; Camila De Biaggi, exec producer; Sophie Gibson, producer. Postproduction Company 3 Tom Poole, colorist; Clare Movshon, producer. Motion Graphics Elastic Peter Murphy, graphics artist; Jennifer Sofio Hall, exec producer; Catherine Yi, producer. Music Squeak E. Clean Justin Hori, composer; Daisy Hamel-Buffa, vocalist; Carol Dunn, exec producer; Chris Shaw, music producer. Sound Design Q Department Audio Post Sonic Union Steve Rosen, Brian Goodheart, sound engineers; Justine Cortale, exec producer; Pat Sullivan, producer. Styling CLM Tom Guinness, stylist; Lotte Elisa Agullo-Collins, Benjamin Russell, assistant stylists.

Screenwork Type: 
Media Type: 
Log in or register now!
Log in or register now!