Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017

Kerry Brougher, Director of the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures, announced three major gifts toward the creation of this institution, bringing fundraising to more than $300M, nearly 80 percent of its $388M campaign goal.

Friday, Aug. 25, 2017

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today published its list of upcoming submission deadlines for 90th Academy Awards® consideration.

Submissions for individual categories and the General Entry/Official Screen Credits (OSC) form are due by 5 p.m. PT on the following dates:

Wednesday, Aug. 9, 2017

John Bailey was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night (August 8) by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Also elected to officer positions by the Board:

Friday, Aug. 4, 2017

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that 11 distinct scientific and technical investigations have been launched for the 2017 Oscars®.

Thursday, Sep. 1, 2016

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted Tuesday night (August 30) to present Honorary Awards to actor Jackie Chan, film editor Anne V.

Friday, Jan. 8, 2016

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that 10 scientific and technical achievements represented by 33 individual award recipients will be honored at its annual Scientific and Technical Awards Presentation on Saturday, February 13, at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills.

Friday, Jul. 10, 2015

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2015–16 Board of Governors.  A runoff election is required for the Writers Branch.

Monday, Jul. 13, 2015

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences celebrates the work of Aardman Animations with three programs featuring the studio’s Oscar®-winning and nominated Wallace and Gromit shorts on Friday, August 7, and Sunday, August 9.

Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2015

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announces the launch of the Academy Color Encoding System (ACES), a free, open, device-independen

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015

The Apu Trilogy¸ considered the greatest work of Indian filmmaker Satyajit Ray, was recently the subject of a meticulous 4K restoration by the Criterion Collection in partnership with The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Scienc