Directors Guild of America President Paris Barclay today announced the five nominees for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2013. 
“To be chosen by your peers in a year full of incredibly well-crafted films is the true marker of outstanding directorial achievement,” said Barclay.  “The passion and vision of each of the nominees resulted in tremendously diverse films that kept audiences mesmerized.  Congratulations to each of the nominees on a job very well done.”
The winner will be named at the 66th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 25, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.  The nominees are (in alphabetical order):
(Warner Bros. Pictures)
Mr. Cuarón’s Directorial Team:
·   Unit Production Manager: David Siegel (Arizona Unit)
·   First Assistant Directors: Josh Robertson, Stephen Hagen (Arizona Unit)
·   Second Assistant Director: Ben Howard
This is Mr. Cuarón’s first DGA Award nomination.
Captain Phillips
(Columbia Pictures)
Mr. Greengrass’s Directorial Team:
·  Unit Production Managers: Todd Lewis, Gregory Goodman
·  First Assistant Director: Chris Carreras
·  Second Assistant Directors: Nick Shuttleworth, Mark S. Constance
This is Mr. Greengrass’s first DGA Award nomination.
12 Years A Slave
(Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Mr. McQueen’s Directorial Team:
·  Unit Production Manager: Anthony Katagas
·  First Assistant Director: Doug Torres
·  Second Assistant Director: James Roque Jr.
·  Second Second Assistant Director: Sherman Shelton Jr.
·  Additional Second Assistant Director: Nathan Parker
This is Mr. McQueen’s first DGA Award nomination.
American Hustle
(Columbia Pictures)
Mr. Russell’s Directorial Team:
·  Unit Production Managers: Shea Kammer, Mark Kamine
·  First Assistant Director: Michele ‘Shelley’ Ziegler
·  Second Assistant Director: Xanthus Valan
·  Second Second Assistant Director: Jason Fesel
·  Location Managers: David Velasco, Guy Efrat (New York Unit)
This is Mr. Russell’s second DGA Award nomination.  He was previously nominated in this category for The Fighter in 2010.
The Wolf of Wall Street
(Paramount Pictures)
Mr. Scorsese’s Directorial Team:
·  Unit Production Manager: Richard Baratta
·  First Assistant Director: Adam Somner
·  Second Assistant Director: Francisco Oritz
·  Second Second Assistant Director: Jeremy Marks
·  Additional Second Assistant Director: Scott Koche
·  Location Manager: Nils Widboom
This is Mr. Scorsese’s eleventh DGA Award nomination.  He won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film in 2006 for The Departed, and has also been nominated in that category for Taxi Driver (1976), Raging Bull (1980), Goodfellas (1990), The Age of Innocence (1993), Gangs of New York (2002), The Aviator (2004) and Hugo (2011). Mr. Scorsese also won the DGA Award in 2010 for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Television for Boardwalk Empire and he was nominated for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for George Harrison: Living in the Material World in 2011.  In 1999, Mr. Scorsese was presented with the Filmmaker Award at the inaugural DGA Honors Gala, and he was honored with the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003.
The winner in the Feature Film category will be announced at the 66th Annual DGA Awards dinner and ceremony on Saturday evening, January 25, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.  The DGA Awards will be hosted by actor Jane Lynch.
DGA nominations for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Television and Commercials will be announced on January 9, 2014.  DGA nominations for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentaries will be announced on January 13, 2014.  BMW is the Exclusive Automotive Sponsor of the 66th Annual DGA Awards. 
About the DGA
In the 78 years since its founding in 1936, the DGA has fought for the economic and creative rights of its members; protected their ability to financially benefit from the reuse of their work; established strong pension and health plans; and established jurisdiction in new technologies and distribution platforms.  Today we represent 15,000 directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, new media and other audiovisual media.