Friday, July 20, 2018
  • Wednesday, Oct. 11, 2017
Music Notes
Beckerman, Perez elected as writer members to ASCAP board
Joel Beckerman
  • --

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), a leader in performing rights and advocacy for music creators, announced that Joel Beckerman and Rudy Pérez have been elected as new writer members to the ASCAP Board of Directors.

Beckerman is an award-winning composer, producer and the founder of Man Made Music, a strategic music and sound studio in New York and Los Angeles. Man Made is dedicated to impacting everyday experiences across entertainment, technology, spaces, products and devices for people everywhere. Beckerman has created original scores for over 50 television series and specials across major networks including CBS, ABC, FX, NBC, and A&E. As a television soundtrack producer, Beckerman has collaborated with a wide range of artists, songwriters and composers ranging from John Legend and John Williams to and the late James Horner. He and his team have also developed signature sonic identities for global giants such as Disney, AT&T, HBO, IMAX, Hulu and the Super Bowl on NBC. He is the co-author of THE SONIC BOOM: How Sound Transforms the Way We Think, Feel, and Buy, a treatise on the topic he calls “sonic humanism.” For his work, Beckerman has received ASCAP’s Most Performed Themes award for 10 consecutive years. He is a former board member of the Society of Composers and Lyricists, and proud to have worked with fellow ASCAP board member Dan Foliart to establish the SCL in New York.
Pérez is an international songwriter, producer, arranger, entrepreneur and philanthropist.  During the last 30 years, he has composed over 1,000 songs, more than 300 of which have become #1 or top ten hits. He is a founder of the Latin Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences (LARAS), The Latin Grammys as well as co-founder of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame.  Pérez has written and produced tracks for artists including Beyoncé, Julio Iglesias, Christina Aguilera, Il Divo, Natalie Cole, Michael Bolton, Luis Miguel, Jose Feliciano, Marc Anthony, Jon Secada, Cyndi Lauper, Luis Fonsi and more. He is the first Latin record producer to be named the Billboard Hot Latin Tracks Producer of the Year for four consecutive years, and has been recognized as ASCAP Latin Songwriter of the Year five times. In 2010, Billboard Magazine named Pérez Producer of the Decade for having more #1 and top 10 hits chart from 2000 to 2010 than any other Latin producer in the magazine’s history. Pérez has received over 500 gold and platinum album awards, and five Grammys with 19 Grammy nominations.

MySHOOT Profiles