Saturday, June 23, 2018
  • Friday, Mar. 18, 2016
Wes Anderson, Brad Silberling Among Those Set To Get Honorary Awards From Location Managers Guild
Wes Anderson
Other recipients include Steve Dayan, Janice Polley, Amy Brenneman
  • GLENDALE, Calif.
  • --

Wes Anderson, Steve Dayan, Janice Polley, Brad Silberling and Amy Brenneman will receive honorary awards at the 3rd Annual Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) Awards, it was announced by LMGI 1st VP Lori Balton. Director Wes Anderson will receive the Eva Monley Award. Head of Hollywood Teamsters Local 399 and former location manager Steve Dayan will take home the Trailblazer Award. Director Michael Mann will present the Lifetime Achievement Award to location manager Janice Polley. Director Brad Silberling and actress Amy Brenneman will team up to accept the Humanitarian Award.

The LMGI Awards honor international features, television and commercials in which the creative use of filming locations set the tone, create a character and enhance the narrative. Winners of the additional awards (nominations have already been announced) will be revealed during a formal ceremony, hosted by David Doumeng, on Saturday evening, April 23, at the recently restored Alex Theatre in Glendale.

The Eva Monley Award honoree is Oscar-nominated director, writer and producer Anderson, best known for The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014), Moonrise Kingdom (2012), The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) and Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009). Nominated for six Oscars, Anderson has also won more than 87 awards and received 115 award nominations. Monley, for whom the award is named, was an intrepid location scout on many films, working with directors John Huston, Otto Preminger and David Lean (The African Queen, Exodus, Lawrence of Arabia).

The Trailblazer Award will be bestowed on union leader Dayan who skillfully cultivates strategic relationships with labor leaders, management, elected officials and the media, in addition to lobbying for California incentives. Dayan is best known for his work as a location manager on Family Man (2000), City of Angels (1998), The Cable Guy (1996) and Volcano (1997), for which he won a COLA Award for Location Professional of the Year--Features. His career began in the motion picture industry in 1978, and he has worked continuously for more than 38 years. Besides holding the position as head of Teamsters Local 399, Dayan is chairman of the California Film Commission and on the executive board of Film LA.

Polley will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by longtime friend and collaborator director Michael Mann. Her long list of credits as supervising location manager include Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011), Insurgent (2015), The Lone Ranger (2013), The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3 (2009), Miami Vice (2006), Heat (1995) and Collateral (2004), for which she won the COLA Award for Location Professional of the Year--Features.

The Humanitarian Awards will be presented to producer, director, writer Silberling and five-time Emmy-nominated actress Brenneman. Silberling is best known for A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004), City of Angels (1998) and Casper (1995). Brenneman has been nominated for three Emmys, three Golden Globes, a Producers Guild Award, and a SAG Award, among many others. She is best known for The Leftovers, Reign, Private Practice, Judging Amy and Heat (1995).