Sunday, June 24, 2018
  • Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2017
MJZ, Park Pictures Land 2 DGA Nominations Apiece For Best Commercial Director of 2016
Fredrik Bond
Lance Acord and AG Rojas of Park Pictures, Dante Ariola and Fredrik Bond of MJZ join RadicalMedia’s Derek Cianfrance in this year’s field of spotmaking nominees
  • --

MJZ and Park Pictures each had two directors scoring nominations for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials for 2016. MJZ’s Dante Ariola and Fredrik Bond are up for the honor as are Park Pictures’ Lance Acord and AG Rojas. Rounding out the field is Derek Cianfrance of RadicalMedia.

Cianfrance and Rojas are first-time DGA nominees. By contrast, Ariola and Bond have been nominated seven times, with Ariola winning the award in 2006. Ariola was also nominated in 2000, 2002, 2004, 2007 and 2011. Bond’s prior nominations came in 2004, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Acord is also no stranger to the DGA nominees’ circle. This is his fourth career nomination, the first three coming in 2003, 2011 and 2012.

This time around, Acord is nominated on the strength of two spots: “Frankie’s Holiday” for Apple via TBWA\Media Arts Lab; and Kohl’s “Movie Night” out of Anomaly.

Ariola’s latest nomination is on the basis of three entries: SunTrust’s “Hold Your Breath” for agency Strawberry Frog; Lyft’s “Riding is the New Driving” from Made Movement; and Beats’ “Tell Me when To Go.”

Bond’s seventh career nod comes for a trio of spots: Apple’s “Dive” via TBWA\Media Arts Lab; Philips’ “Everyday Hero” for Ogilvy & Mather; and LG’s “World of Play” out of Energy BBDO.

AG Rojas’ first career nomination is for S7 Airlines’ “The Best Planet” from Wieden+Kennedy Amsterdam, and Samsung’s “The Snail” for Leo Burnett USA.

And Cianfrance’s first nod comes on the strength of four entries: Nike Golf’s “Chase; Powerade’s “Doubts” and “Expectations; and Squarespace’s “Manifesto.” The latter is from agency Anomaly while “Chase,” “Doubts” and “Expectations” are all from Wieden+Kennedy, Portland, Ore.

The winner will be announced at the 69th Annual DGA Awards on Saturday, February 4, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Here’s a rundown of the commercial director nominees and some of their supporting teams behind the nominated work:

Park Pictures
“Frankie’s Holiday,” Apple, TBWA\Media Arts Lab
First Assistant Director: Thomas Smith

“Movie Night,” Kohl’s – Anomaly
First Assistant Director: Thomas Smith
Second Assistant Director: Rob Kay


“Hold Your Breath,” SunTrust – Strawberry Frog
Unit Production Manager: Natalie Hill
First Assistant Director: George Nessis
Second Assistant Director: Isaac Mejia

“Riding is the New Driving,” Lyft – Made Movement
Unit Production Manager: Natalie Hill
First Assistant Director: John Lowe
Second Assistant Director: Julian Metter
Second Second Assistant Director: Dave Liehn

“Tell Me When To Go,” Beats 
Unit Production Managers: Natalie Hill, Susan Levin
First Assistant Director: Chris Medak
Second Assistant Director: Adam Stern
Second Second Assistant Director: Jani Vournas

Ariola won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials for “Snowball” (Traveler’s Insurance), “Human” (Johnny Walker), and “First Taste” (Coca-Cola) in 2006. 


“Dive,” Apple – TBWA/Media Arts Lab
First Assistant Director: Howell Caldwell
“Everyday Hero,” Philips – Ogilvy & Mather

“World of Play,” LG – Energy BBDO
Unit Production Manager: Line Postmyr
First Assistant Director: Anthony Dimino
Second Assistant Director: Spencer Taylor
Second Second Assistant Director: R. Ben Parker
Additional First Assistant Director: Chris Blanch
Additional Second Assistant Director: Steve Bagnara


“Chase,” Nike Golf – Wieden + Kennedy Portland
First Assistant Director: Rick Lange
Second Assistant Director: Ethan Ross

“Doubts,” Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland
First Assistant Director: Mariela Comitini
Second Assistant Director: Brad Robinson

“Expectations,” Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland
First Assistant Director: Mariela Comitini
Second Assistant Director: Brad Robinson

“Manifesto,” Squarespace – Anomaly
First Assistant Director: David Backus
Second Assistant Director: Josh Voegelin

Park Pictures

“The Best Planet,” S7 Airlines – Wieden + Kennedy Amsterdam

“The Snail,” Samsung – Leo Burnett USA
First Assistant Director: Robert Dean Phillips

Credits for ScreenWork: 

Client Powerade Agency Wieden+Kennedy, Portland, Ore. Max Stinson, Erik Fahrenkopf, creative directors; Adam Tetreault, copywriter; Derrick Ho, art director; Ben Grylewicz, executive producer; Lindsay Reed, sr. producer; Ricara Stokes, producer. Tiffany Golden, assistant manager; Mark Fitzloff, Joe Staples, executive creative directors. Production RadicalMedia Derek Cianfrance, director; Donna Portaro, exec producer; Frank Dituri, head of production; Cody Ryder, DP; Christopher Blauvelt, DP.  Editorial Work Editorial Rich Orrick, editor; Arielle Zakowski, assistant editor; Marlo Baird, producer. VFX Electric Theatre Collective Ant Walsham, artist; Kate Hitchings, exec producer. Music/Sound Joint Editorial Noah Woodburn, sound designer. Audio Post Joint Editorial Noah Woodburn, mixer; Sarah Fink, producer.

Credits for ScreenWork: 

Client LG Electronics Agency Energy BBDO Sam Bergen, executive creative director; Miller Jones, creative director/copywriter; Aaron Pendleton, creative director/art director; Rowley Samuel, director of integrated production; Matt Scoville, executive producer; Daniel Kuypers, director of music; David Murray, strategy director; Jake Setlak, planning director. Production MJZ Fredrik Bond, director; Crille Forsberg, DP; Kate Leahy, exec producer; Line Postmyr, line producer. Editorial Marshall Street Editors/Union Editorial Tim Thornton-Allan, editor; Matthew Pochettino, Drew Johnson, Zach Kashkett, assistant editors; Samantha Machado, producer, Union; Michael Raimondi, president/managing partner, Union. Postproduction The Mill Chicago Andrew Sommerville, exec producer; Erica Hilbert, producer; Jay Bandlish, shoot supervisor/2D lead/creative director; David Lawson, shoot supervisor; Sid Harrington-Odedra, shoot supervisor/3D lead; Adam Carroll, 3D lead. Matthew Osborne, colorist. Audio Production Another Country Tim Konn, exec producer; John Binder, Peter Erazmus, sound design. Music MAS-Music and Strategy Gabe McDonough, music producer; Busy Signal, artist. Track: “Everybody Move”