Friday, October 19, 2018
  • Saturday, Jan. 6, 2018
"Lady Bird" Scores National Film Critics Awards For Best Picture, Director, Screenplay, Supporting Actress
Lucas Hedges (l) and Saoirse Ronan in a scene from "Lady Bird" (photo by Merie Wallace/courtesy of A24)

The National Society of Film Critics has voted for Lady Bird as the Best Picture of 2017, also bestowing upon it the Best Director (Greta Gerwig), Screenplay (Gerwig) and Supporting Actress (Laurie Metcalf) honors.

Best Actor and Actress went, respectively, to Daniel Kaluuya for Get Out, and Sally Hawkins for The Shape of Water.

Earning Best Supporting Actor distinction was Willem Dafoe for The Florida Project.

Roger Deakins, CBE, ASC, BSC, won Best Cinematography for Blade Runner 2049.

Deemed Best Foreign-Language Film was Graduation.

Named Best Non-Fiction Film was Faces Places.

The National Society of Film Critics dedicated this year’s awards to film critic and historian Richard Schickel, a founding member of the group who passed away in February 2017.

Here’s a full rundown of National Society of Film Critics’ award winners:

Best Picture
Lady Bird 
Runners-up: Get Out, Phantom Thread

Best Actor
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out 
Runners-up: Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread; Timothee Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Best Actress 
Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Runners-up: Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird; Cynthia Nixon, A Quiet Passion; and Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actress
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird 
Runners-up: Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread; Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project 
Runners-up: Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me by Your Name, The Shape of Water and The Post; Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird 
Runners-up: Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread; Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Screenplay
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird 
Runners-up: Jordan Peele, Get Out; Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread

Best Cinematography 
Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049 
Runners-up: Hoyte van Hoytema, Dunkirk; Alexis Zabe, The Florida Project

Best Foreign-Language Film 
Runners-up: Faces Places; BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Best Non-Fiction Film
Faces Places 
Runners-up: Ex Libris: The New York Public Library; Dawson City: Frozen Time

Special Citation for a Film Awaiting U.S. Distribution
Agnieszka Holland’s Spoor

Best Experimental Film
Ben Russell’s Good Luck

Film Heritage Award
“One Way or Another: Black Women’s Cinema 1970-1991,” BAMcinématek

Film Heritage Award
Dan Talbot for his pioneering work as an exhibitor and distributor in bringing worldwide cinema to the U.S.


MySHOOT Company Profiles