Tuesday, July 17, 2018
  • Thursday, Jan. 12, 2017
Kirsten Johnson's "Cameraperson" Captures Three Cinema Eye Honors
Ezra Edelman's "O.J.: Made in America" scores wins for Direction, Production
  • --

Cameraperson, Kirsten Johnson’s personal memoir exploring the balancing act that is inherent in her role as a cinematographer, topped the 10th annual Cinema Eye Honors with a total of three wins: Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking; Outstanding Cinematography for Johnson; and Outstanding Editing for Nels Bangerter.

Next in the nonfiction film awards competition was O.J.: Made in America with two wins: Outstanding Achievement in Direction (Ezra Edelman) and Production (Edelman and Caroline Waterlow).

The 2017 Cinema Eye Honors ceremony was held Wednesday evening (1/11) at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens.

Here’s a rundown of winners:

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
Directed by Kirsten Johnson | Produced by Kirsten Johnson and Marilyn Ness

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Ezra Edelman | OJ: Made in America
Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Nels Bangerter | Cameraperson

Outstanding Achievement in Production
Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow | OJ: Made in America

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Kirsten Johnson | Cameraperson

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Films Made for Television
Making a Murderer
Directed and Produced by Laura Ricciardi and Moira Demos
For Netflix: Lisa Nishimura and Adam Del Deo
Audience Choice Prize
Gleason | Directed by Clay Tweel

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film
Nanfu Wang | Hooligan Sparrow

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
David Byrne, LeeAnn Rossi and Aaron Rosenblum | Contemporary Color

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation
Craig Staggs and Keith Maitland | Tower

Spotlight Award
Les Sauteurs (Those Who Jump) | Directed by Estephan Wagner and Moritz Siebert
Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
La Laguna | Directed by Aaron Schock

Heterodox Award (honoring films that blur the line between narrative feature and documentary)
All These Sleepless Nights | Directed by Michal Marczak

Legacy Award
The Times of Harvey Milk (1984) | Directed by Rob Epstein