Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2017
Hollywood Film Awards Honor Gary Oldman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Mary J. Blige, Among Others
In this Sept. 11, 2017, file photo, Gary Oldman attends a press conference for "Darkest Hour" on day 5 of the Toronto International Film Festival at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. (Photo by Evan Agostini/Invision/AP, File)
  • --

Gary Oldman received a career achievement honor at the Hollywood Film Awards on Sunday (11/5), headlining a crop of artisans, many of whom are in this season’s Oscar conversation.

Oldman, an Oscar-nominated ("Tinker Taylor Soldier Spy") British actor, has taken on numerous memorable roles in a nearly 40-year career, including a drug-dealing pimp in “True Romance” and Commissioner Gordon in Christopher Nolan’s "Batman" films.

Oldman has generated Oscar buzz with his recent turn as British Prime Minister Winston Churchill in “Darkest Hour.” 

Additionally scoring a Hollywood Director Award was Joe Wright for “Darkest Hour.”

Earning Best Actor and Actress distinction, respectively, were Jake Gyllenhaal for “Stronger” and Kate Winslet for “Wonder Wheel.”

Supporting Actor and Actress mantles were presented to Sam Rockwell for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” and Allison Janney for “I, Tonya.”

Among the evening’s other honors were: Mudbound’s cast (including Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Mary J. Blige, Jason Mitchell, Jason Clarke, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks) receiving the Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award; Blige additionally earning the Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award; and the cast of “I, Tonya” (Margot Robbie, Janney, Sebastian Stan, Julianne Nicholson, Mckenna Grace, and Caitlin Carver) taking the Hollywood Ensemble Award.

The Hollywood Film Awards were handed out during a ceremony in Beverly Hills hosted by CBS late-night host James Corden. Dick Clark Productions produced the awards.

Here’s a rundown of the evening’s winners:

Hollywood Career Achievement Award
Gary Oldman

Hollywood Actor Award
Jake Gyllenhaal for Stronger, presented by Amy Adams

Hollywood Supporting Actor Award
Sam Rockwell for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, presented by Vince Vaughn

Hollywood Actress Award
Kate Winslet for Wonder Wheel, presented by Shailene Woodley

Hollywood Supporting Actress Award
Allison Janney for I, Tonya, presented by Melissa McCarthy

Hollywood Comedy Award
Adam Sandler for The Meyerowitz Stories, presented by Dustin Hoffman

Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award
Mary J. Blige for Mudbound, presented by Viola Davis

Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award
Timothée Chalamet for Call Me By Your Name, presented by Dakota Johnson

New Hollywood Award
Jamie Bell for Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool, presented by Annette Bening

Hollywood Documentary Award
Sean Combs for Can’t Stop Won’t Stop: Bad Boy Story

Hollywood Ensemble Award
I, Tonya cast including Margot Robbie, Allison Janney, Sebastian Stan, Julianne Nicholson, Mckenna Grace, and Caitlin Carver, presented by Noomi Rapace

Hollywood Comedy Ensemble Award
The Big Sick cast including Kumail Nanjiani, Holly Hunter, Zoe Kazan, and Ray Romano, presented by Jon Favreau

Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award
Mudbound cast including Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Mary J. Blige, Jason Mitchell, Jason Clarke, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks, presented by Janelle Monáe

Hollywood Song Award
“Common,” Andra Day, and Diane Warren for “STAND UP FOR SOMETHING” from Marshall

Hollywood Foreign Language Film Award
Angelina Jolie and Loung Ung for First They Killed My Father, presented by Jacqueline Bisset

Hollywood Director Award
Joe Wright for Darkest Hour, presented by Bryce Dallas Howard

Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award
Taylor Sheridan for Wind River, presented by Elizabeth Olsen

Hollywood Producer Award
Broderick Johnson, Andrew Kosove, and Cynthia Yorkin for Blade Runner 2049, presented by Harrison Ford

Hollywood Screenwriter Award
Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for The Disaster Artist, presented by James Franco

Hollywood Animation Award
Coco, presented by Eva Longoria

Hollywood Cinematography Award
Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049

Hollywood Film Composer Award
Thomas Newman for Victoria & Abdul

Hollywood Editor Award
Sidney Wolinsky for The Shape of Water

Hollywood Visual Effects Award
Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Dan Barrett and Erik Winquist for War for the Planet of the Apes

Hollywood Sound Award
Addison Teague & Dave Acord for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Hollywood Costume Design Award
Jacqueline Durran for Darkest Hour and Beauty and the Beast

Hollywood Make Up & Hair Styling Award
Jenny Shircore for Beauty and the Beast

Hollywood Production Design Award
Dennis Gassner for Blade Runner 2049