Friday, June 22, 2018
  • Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017
"Get Out" Leads Gotham Awards With 4 Nominations
This image released by Universal Pictures shows Daniel Kaluuya in a scene from, "Get Out." (Universal Pictures)
  • --

Director/writer Jordan Peele’s Get Out (Universal Pictures) topped the field of nominations for the 2017 Gotham Awards, Independent Feature Project’s (IFP) annual competition honoring indie film. Get Out scored four nods: Best Feature, Breakthrough Director and Screenplay (both for Peele) and Best Actor (Daniel Kaluuya)

The Gotham Awards signals the kick-off to the film awards season. As the first major awards ceremony on the calendar, the IFP Awards provide critical early recognition and media attention to worthy independent films. 

“This year offered a bountiful array of diverse, creative work that represents the very best from this community. We’re thrilled to celebrate these achievements,” said Joana Vicente, executive director of IFP and the Made in NY Media Center. 

Next up with three nominations apiece were Call Me By Your Name (Sony Pictures Classic) for Best Feature, Screenplay (James Ivory) and Breakthrough Actor (Timothée Chalamet); The Florida Project (A24) for Best Feature, Actor (Willem Dafoe) and Breakthrough Actor (Brooklynn Prince); and Ladybird (A24) for Breakthrough Director (Greta Gerwig), Best Screenplay (Gerwig) and Best Actress (Saoirse Ronan)

Mudbound (Netflix) already has a Gotham win as the 2017 Best Actor/Actress nominating committee voted to bestow upon director Dee Rees’ film a special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance (actors Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks). Mudbound also landed a nomination for Breakthrough Actor (Blige).

Director Craig Gillespie’s I, Tonya (NEON) also garnered a pair of nods--for Best Feature and Best Actress (Margot Robbie).

Up for Best Documentary are: director Frederick Wiseman’s Ex Libria--The New York Public Library (Zipporah Films); director Theo Anthony’s Rat Film (MEMORY and Cinema Guild); director Yance Ford’s Strong Island (Netflix); director Sabaah Folayan’s Whose Streets? (Magnolia Pictures); and director Jairus McLeary’s The Work (The Orchard and First Look Media).

Additionally, in terms of special honors, Gotham Award Tributes will be given to actors Nicole Kidman and Dustin Hoffman, director Sofia Coppola, producer Jason Blum, cinematographer Ed Lachman, and a Gotham Humanitarian Tribute to Al Gore.

The Gotham Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, November 27th at Cipriani Wall Street.

Here’s a rundown of nominations for the 27th Annual IFP Gotham Awards:

Best Feature
Call Me by Your Name

Luca Guadagnino, director; Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

The Florida Project
Sean Baker, director; Sean Baker, Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou, producers (A24)

Get Out
Jordan Peele, director; Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jordan Peele, producers (Universal Pictures)

Good Time
Josh and Benny Safdie, directors; Paris Kasidokostas-Latsis, Terry Dougas, Sebastian Bear-McClard, Oscar Boyson, producers (A24)

I, Tonya
Craig Gillespie, director; Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley, producers (NEON)

Best Documentary
Ex Libris - The New York Public Library 

Frederick Wiseman, director and producer (Zipporah Films)

Rat Film
Theo Anthony, director; Riel Roch-Decter, Sebastian Pardo, producers (MEMORY and Cinema Guild)

Strong Island
Yance Ford, director; Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Netflix)

Whose Streets?
Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, directors; Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, Jennifer MacArthur, Flannery Miller, producers (Magnolia Pictures)

The Work
Jairus McLeary, director;  Alice Henty, Eon McLeary, Jairus McLeary, Miles McLeary, producers (The Orchard and First Look Media)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Maggie Betts for Novitiate (Sony Pictures Classics)

Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird (A24)

Kogonada for Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)

Jordan Peele for Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Joshua Z Weinstein for Menashe (A24)

Best Screenplay
The Big Sick, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (Amazon Studios)

Brad’s Status, Mike White (Amazon Studios)

Call Me by Your Name, James Ivory (Sony Pictures Classics)

Columbus, Kogonada (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)

Get Out, Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures)

Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig (A24)

Best Actor
Willem Dafoe in The Florida Project (A24)

James Franco in The Disaster Artist (A24)

Daniel Kaluuya in Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Robert Pattinson in Good Time (A24)

Adam Sandler in The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected) (Netflix)

Harry Dean Stanton in Lucky (Magnolia Pictures)

Best Actress
Melanie Lynskey in I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore (Netflix)

Haley Lu Richardson in Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)

Margot Robbie in I, Tonya (NEON)

Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird (A24)

Lois Smith in Marjorie Prime (FilmRise)

Breakthrough Actor
Mary J. Blige in Mudbound (Netflix)

Timothée Chalamet in Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Harris Dickinson in Beach Rats (NEON)

Kelvin Harrison Jr. in It Comes at Night (A24)

Brooklynn Prince in The Florida Project (A24)

Breakthrough Series

Donald Glover, creator; Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms, executive producers (FX Networks)

Better Things
Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K., creators; Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Pamela Adlon, executive producers (FX Networks)

Dear White People
Justin Simien, creator; Yvette Bowser, Justin Simien, Stephanie Allain, Julia Lebedev, executive producers (Netflix)

Phoebe Waller-Bridge, creator; Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, executive producers (Amazon)

Search Party
Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, creators; Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, Tony Hernandez, Lilly Burns,  executive producers (TBS)

Breakthrough Series, Short Form

Kate Berlant, Andrew DeYoung and John Early, creators (Vimeo)

Joel Ashton McCarthy, creator (YouTube)

Zoe Cassavetes, creator (Blackpills and VICE)

Let Me Die a Nun
Sarah Salovaara, creator (Vimeo)

The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes
Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube)