Thursday, May 24, 2018
  • Monday, Nov. 20, 2017
"City of Ghosts," "Jane" Among Producers Guild Awards' Documentary Nominees
This image taken from film provided by Amazon Studios/IFC Films shows Aziz in a scene from filmmaker Matthew Heineman's documentary, "City of Ghosts." (Amazon Studios/IFC Films)
  • --

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) has unveiled its 2018 Documentary Motion Pictures nominees that will advance in the final voting process for the 29th Annual Producers Guild Awards. 

The films nominated for the Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures are:

  • Chasing Coral
  • City of Ghosts
  • Cries from Syria
  • Earth: One Amazing Day
  • Jane
  • Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower
  • The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee

The Producers Guild Awards honor excellence in motion picture and television productions, as well as some of the living legends who shape the profession. The remaining nominations for Theatrical Motion Pictures, Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures, Television Series/Specials, Long Form Programs, and Sports, Children’s and Short Form Programs will be announced on January 5, 2018.
Also, the PGA and The Players club will host their second Annual East Coast Nominees Celebration on January 16, 2018 in New York. The event is open to nominees and their guests.
The ceremony for the 2018 Producers Guild Awards takes place on January 20, 2018 at The Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles where the final winners will be honored and announced.
During the awards show, the Producers Guild will also present special honors to, among others, chairman of Universal Pictures Donna Langley for its Milestone Award and to film producer Charles Roven for its David O. Selznick Award. The 2018 Producers Guild Awards event chairs are Donald De Line and Amy Pascal.
In 1990, the Producers Guild held the first-ever Golden Laurel Awards, which were renamed the Producers Guild Awards in 2002. Richard Zanuck and Lili Fini Zanuck took home the award for Best Produced Motion Picture for Driving Miss Daisy, establishing the Guild’s awards as a bellwether for the Oscars.