Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Tuesday, Mar. 7, 2017
AICP Show Sets 2017 Curatorial Committee
Lisa Mehling, 2017 chairperson of the AICP Show
  • --

Matt Miller, president and CEO of the Association of Independent Commercial Producers (AICP), and Lisa Mehling, owner/executive producer of Chelsea and the 2017 chairperson of the AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial, announced the composition of the Show’s Curatorial Committee. The call for entries period, for the AICP Awards, originally scheduled to end on March 3, is extended through March 10 due to popular request; entries can be made here: http://www.awardcore.com/aicp/login.php

“The Curatorial process and Committee makeup are unique aspects of the AICP Shows that ensures that each installment of the AICP Show benefits from the many crafts and perspectives that collaborate to uncover truly outstanding work,” noted Miller. “The Committee’s expertise and insights helps us to create a showcase worthy of inclusion in the film archives of The Museum of Modern Art.”

Under the direction of Mehling and Miller, the Curatorial Committee is comprised of a diverse array of industry leaders, working in all disciplines that contribute to creating marketing in the motion image. The Curatorial Committee is part of a bifurcated judging system, which begins with a series of judging panels from across the country, with experts in various fields judging work across the 23 categories in the Show. New Categories this year include: Concept, Cause, and Music Video.  The Curatorial Committee is the final arbiter in the disposition of the Show, confirming eligibility and appropriateness to category. 

Curatorial Committees
In addition to Mehling and Miller, the AICP Show Curatorial Committee comprises: Stephanie Apt, president, Final Cut; Toby Barlow; Rupert Burton, partner, Method Studios; Sally Campbell, founding partner, SomeSuch; Jules Daly, president, RSA Films; Scott Duchon, CCO, twofifteenmccann; Craig Duncan, partner/Managing Director, Cutters, and the president of AICE; Geoff Edwards, creative executive, CAA; Corinna Falusi, partner/CCO, Mother; Laura Fegley, executive creative director, Colle+McVoy; Robert Fernandez, CEO, Moxie Pictures; Oliver Fuselier, managing partner, Tool; Susan Hoffman, global executive creative director, Wieden+Kennedy; Javier Jimenez, partner/executive producer, Motion Theory; Julian Katz, SVP/group executive producer, BBDO; Joyce King Thomas, chairman/CCO, McCannXBC; Sloane Klevin, editor, Union Editorial; Angus Kneale, CCO/NY, The Mill; Ralph Laucella, founding partner/executive producer, O Positive, and chairman of the AICP National Board; Tanya LeSieur, chief production officer, TBWA\Chiat\Day; Jason Menkes, partner/executive producer, COPILOT Music + Sound, and president of AMP; Robert Miller, owner/composer, RMI Music ; Vic Palumbo, partner/director of integrated production, Deutsch LA; Tod Puckett, associate partner/director of broadcast production, Goodby Silverstein & Partners; Jay Russell, EVP/CCO, GSD&M; Cliff Skeete, executive creative director, McGarrybowen; Michael Smith, executive creative director, BBDO; Wesley ter Haar, founder, Media Monks; Scott Vitrone, CCO, Figliulo & Partners; and Peyton Wilson, director, Chelsea.

A separate panel judges the AICP Next Awards, under the aegis of judging chair Nick Law, vice chairman/global CCO of R/GA. The Jury Presidents of the eleven AICP Next Awards categories are: Tim Allen, president/CCO, Wolff Olins (Mobile); Jill Applebaum, creative strategist/Creative Shop Studio, Facebook (Social); Winston Binch, chief digital officer, Deutsch North America (Website); Susan Credle, global CCO, FCB Worldwide (Viral/Web Film); Kerstin Emhoff, co-founder/president, PRETTYBIRD (Experiential – Live Events/Broadcast); Jonathan Mildenhall, chief marketing officer, Airbnb (Branded Content); Chris Milk, CEO/co-founder, Within & Here Be Dragons (Virtual Reality); Jaime Robinson, co-founder/CCO, Joan (Integrated Campaign); Vivian Rosenthal, CEO/founder, Snaps (Innovation); Jimmy Smith, chairman/CEO/CCO, Amusement Park Entertainment (Cause Marketing); and Tereasa Surratt, global GCD/executive director of experiential, Ogilvy (Experiential).

Joining the Jury presidents as curators will be: Gerry Graf, founder and CCO of Barton F. Graf (and 2014 Next Awards Judging Chair); Jess Greenwood, VP of content and partnerships, R/GA; Jeff Kling, CCO, Fallon (and 2016 Next Awards Judging Chair); Karl Lieberman, executive creative director, Wieden+Kennedy; Tor Myhren, VP/marketing communications, Apple; and Rob Reilly, global Creative chairman at McCann Worldgroup (and 2015 Next Awards Judging Chair).

“I cannot imagine a more talented, experienced and accomplished group of people lending themselves to our process”, noted Miller of the AICP Next Awards Jury presidents and curators.